An Open Letter to Dance Moms and Dads

Standard

Dear Parents,

We’re in it. The heat of competition season. We’re are in it for the long haul. As much as I love my job, and what I get to create and who I get to train and see goals achieved, there are a few things I would like to address with you all. 

Now, I don’t want to sound like I don’t appreciate you, because I really do. Our businesses wouldn’t be thriving if it you weren’t for you all bringing your children to us day in and day out. BUT! What really gets me over the edge with parents is the way that you think if a dance does not do well, that it is automatically the teacher or choreographer’s fault. I am here to tell you that it is not my fault in any way shape or form. You can’t praise the work in question a few days prior in the studio, then when it doesn’t place where we think it should, blame it on us. It doesn’t work that way. Not to say the dancers are always at fault, but I am not on the stage. I didn’t fall out of turns to lower the technique score. I did not trip over someone and almost miss a lift. I am not the one who was late for an entrance. I don’t have the bent legs and not completely pointed feet. Furthermore, I am not a judge at that table. I don’t know what they will like. I don’t know what they will see or think. What we do is subjective. There is no way to win. This is not like the cheer world where you know exactly what skills to hit in your routine for a perfect score. Dance doesn’t work that way. Please remember that when a dance does not score the way we would want it to or if someone else did better than your kid. That isn’t why we do this.

I would also like to say that when a solo or group does better than your group or solo, chances are it’s because that group focused more, rehearsed more, took more class, didn’t talk as much, didn’t have attendance issues, comes prepared for class, or any other extenuating circumstances that comes in to play. You play just as a vital role in your child’s training as I do. Every dancer has the same opportunities. It all depends on how much time you are willing to devote and how much money you are willing to spend. Like I tweeted on Monday, you can’t expect the maximum results with minimum commitment. I had a really good conversation with one of my dancer’s a few weeks back about this. She said something to the effect of, “I wish we could be like those studios that win everywhere.” To that I responded, “Well you get what you put in.” To that she said, “I bet dace comes before anything with those dancers/studios. I wouldn’t want that.” I explained to her that school and dance are equally important to these career kids. They give 100% to their schooling and their training. They aren’t giving 15% at a Pom or cheer team, 25% at soccer, and 10% to track and field, then 50% to dance. They are in the studio every moment they can be. They are doing everything in their power to be the best that they can be. She then told me,”Well, I like being on my Pom and cheer team.” So then I said, “Then until you make the effort and real commitment to make yourself the best dancer you can be, that will only be a wish.” She told me I made sense and that she understood. Just like anything in life, you get what you put in. Every plié, every battement, every class, every performance can be a breakthrough. Stop allowing your kids to be mediocre. 

When I give your child a correction, I am not picking on them. I am not being mean, I am giving them these notes because I know they are capable of more and I am going to do everything in my power to make that happen. We live in a world where children are coddled and have a sense of entitlement. I am not from that generation. I am from the generation of hard work and determination. I didn’t always win, but I learned how to do so gracefully. I learned that those corrections got me a higher score when I applied them. I realized that my teacher’s told me these things because they cared to make me better. One of my teacher’s always said, “Be concerned when I stop giving you corrections, because that is when you have stopped caring and stopped working. Once you stop working for me, I stop working for you.” 

Lastly, my time is precious. Every moment that I am in rehearsals or in class is time that I am not with my own family or friends. My time also comes with my résumé, so while you may not love paying for extra rehearsals, now that I am giving your child my undivided attention, all of my expertise, and every ounce of my being. With that being said, yes, my time, creativity, and critical eyes are expensive. 

Like I said at the begging, this is not to bash parents. It is to educate and open your mind to the world we live in. While you have one dancer, we have anywhere between 25-90, sometimes more. We give all we can when we can. ANd we truly thank you for your support and for  believing in our training and studios.

Sincerely,

#DanceTchrProbs

Leave a comment