We’re the Lucky Ones.

Standard

You know…

We are pretty damn lucky to be dancers. I don’t ever think how much my life would be changed or effected by dance when I was to be the age I am now. Back in 1988 until 2001, dance was class. It was something I knew I loved and couldn’t live without and something I looked forward to every single day.

I did not at the time realize who the people teaching me were going to end up being. World famous choreographers and entertainers, convention owners, dancewear company owners, et cetera. Little did I know that those people would end up being my friends, while still being mentors, all these years later. When I have the opportunity to be in their class, either to take or to observe, I listen to every single word they say and STILL absorb it all. Even if it is the same speech that they have been giving since I was 14, I still cling to every word. Because even 16 years later, they still hold true. 

Little did I know that what I was learning and what I was doing at the time would effect how and what I would create as a choreographer. Little did I know that what I would eventually create, would bring people to tears. Little did I know that those tears would motivate people to reach out to me and contact me for work or even just to thank me for doing what I do. Little did I know how often I would be moved to tears by such beautiful and authentic choreography and dancing. It is such a beautiful thing to be able to experience once a month or so. 

Little did I know, that the lessons I learned as a young dancer would then be passed on for generations as I became a teacher. The ones that go beyond pointing your feet and straightening your legs. Lessons of preparation. Lessons of responsibility.  Lessons of accountability. Lessons that turn into a strong work ethic. The lessons that in turn, make you an effective adult in society. The ones that get you jobs and promotions. 

Little did I know, that I would be able to sit and watch people dance, day in and day out and never tire of it. Little did I know that this teaching and dancing thing that I love so much, would take me around the globe. 

Little did I know that I would be a student for the rest of my life. I thought once I left the studio, that I was a pro. Little did I know how little I actually knew. We often think we know everything between the ages of 13 and 23 (roughly). Boy. Was I wrong. 

My good friend Mark Meismer once said “We aren’t curing cancer. We aren’t fighting the war. We are doing chaine turns. We are dancing. It’s not that serious. So have fun.” I have always tried to keep that mentality. Through every thing I have done in this dance world. Winning is cool, but having fun is cooler. Life is so much easier when you aren’t pressured. Yes, we all want to do well and improve, but if there is no joy in it, those trophies, ribbons, first overalls and everything that came along with it, are all pointless. 

Stop being concerned about the ‘best dancer,’ because that ‘best dancer’ is only concerned about themselves. Remember why we do this. Think about where you want to take these experiences, both in and out of the studio, and just dance. Happy Monday, everyone.

Leave a comment